Board of Appeals

The ten-member board hears and decides appeals of administrative citations for municipal code violations, including animal, police, fire, building, stormwater, and zoning matters. They set penalties and devise solutions for ongoing violations of the municipal code. 

The Board of Appeals meets twice a year, and hearing panels are convened the second Tuesday of the month at 9 a.m. and the fourth Thursday of the month at 3 p.m. in the City Council Chambers at 311 Vernon Street. 

Current Members Are:

  • Christopher Champlin (Vice Chair)
  • Richard DeMarchi
  • Mark Elmquist
  • Leilani Fratis
  • Dan Myers
  • Scott Sanford (Chair)
  • Michael Sawyer
  • Joseph Speaker
  • Sharon Telles 
  • Sean Wallentine


Tivonna Stern
Deputy City Attorney

Gretchen Hakala
Legal Clerk
(916) 774-5325