SylviaSylvia Besana was a Roseville native who epitomized the word "volunteer". An educator, counselor and avid community leader, Sylvia spent the greater part of her life giving back to the community and making a difference through her continued commitment to serve.

The Sylvia Besana Community Volunteer Award is a tribute to her and to her lifetime of community service. This annual award recognizes individuals in the Roseville community who display dedication through consistent commitment to community service, serve as role models by inspiring others to volunteer, and demonstrate leadership, excellence and integrity through volunteer service.

Click on the links below for more information regarding the criteria and nomination process for this award.
Sylvia Besana Community Volunteer Award Criteria
Sylvia Besana Community Volunteer Award Nomination Form

Recipients are recognized at City Council Meetings and their names are engraved on a perpetual plaque commemorating the honor; the plaque is displayed in the lobby of the Civic Center.

2017 Winner: 

Nayan Pradhan is the recipient of the 2017 Sylvia Besana Community Volunteer Award.

Nayan started volunteering in 2009 for the library’s new Adult Literacy Program. While tutoring for the program, Nayan recognized a need for new immigrants to receive help in the library so he created the Conversation Club to help immigrants learn to speak comfortably in a safe and relaxing atmosphere. Nayan has helped improve the skills of many students making it easier for them to get a new or better job, pass their Armed Services Exam, pass the G-E-D, or just be able to help their children with their homework.

Many of the club members have gone on to volunteer at their children’s school, register at the Roseville Adult School, and make lasting friendships within this diverse group. As a result, other tutors have wanted to volunteer to expand on this idea. Today we have three available Conversation Clubs for our community to attend, and new programs have extended to Placer County Libraries in Rocklin and Auburn. Nayan’s creativity and initiative has made a lasting impact on the scope and content of the library’s Adult Literacy Program.

He has identified a need and created something to make things better for others, and his work has had a lasting impact on his peers, his program, and his community.

Past Recipients
2015 Fred and Pauline Wight
2014 Ed and Marian Tiedemann
2013 Olu Shaola
2012 Esmerita Rivera
2011 Janet Zeitman
2010 Aldo Pineschi, Jr.
2009 Melba Erven